//
you're reading...
AFL

My second personality- Its more than a game

Its life or death, its what it all comes down to, nothing has been more important than this…

Alright well maybe thats taking it a bit far!  On the eve of the biggest game of the season to date for my football club, I decided to write about the rearing of my second personality. This one isnt a good one mind you.  Well it does have its good points but what troubles me is that it certainly has some undesirable characteristics.

Yes Aussie Rules brings it out in me.  I think Aussie Rules can bring it out in alot of people in our great southern land.  Mind you it used to be difficult to distinguish the difference in character, but as I mellow and look at life a bit differently this one chink in my armor continues to rear its ugly head.

I cant help it!  Game day, night or even afternoon. Wherever I am I tune in – television, radio and now thanks, sorry, no thanks that should be to technology the result is at my fingertips via internet and iphone applications.  Over recent years its been difficult to get to an actual game but the fire in the belly hasnt dampened. Thinking about it Im somewhat grateful as I dont think Id be making any friends with the social skills of my second personality at the game.

Ocassionally Im able to pull myself up when Im yelling at the televison, getting all uptight and even being in a bad mood.  It got to the point during last years final series where I was pacing the room and listening to the radio as the television broadcast was delayed.  The end result was not pretty and ended in tears. Yep you read right – tears!

So I picked myself back up again (as I do every season) and lined up for another season riding the highs and lows, the victories and defeats of my beloved football team.

What really suprises me is the emotion and feeling that arises from something I am an observer to. Yes Ive been following this team since I was a young lass and it is implicit in our family that this is the team we adopt but I am not a player, wife, mother, sister or clubperson attached to the inner sanctum. Yet the passion boils over and infiltrates every cell of my being. I have been able to limit it these days only to those few hours. Take me back 15 years and I was living and breathing it every day.

So as I gear up for the do or die clash, with the winner progressing to the preliminary final next week I ask you- is there something that changes your character or brings out the worst in you?

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My second personality- Its more than a game

  1. Funny!! This was like reading something I had written myself. I feel the passion of this team exactly the same, down to the very core and every essence of my body!!
    Frustrating, exhilarating all at the same time! And I don’t think anything else seriously brings out the worst/best of me…

    Posted by Belinda | January 4, 2011, 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

