//
you're reading...
Identity, Parenting, Relationships, Uncategorized

Meat and Three Veg? Ah thats a No!

Yes I am over it!

I’m sick of it and I think it’s finally got to the point that I can’t ignore it anymore.  I’m thinking it’s the universe pushing me forward. I always get these types of issues where I sit on them for awhile and think – no it’s too much hassle to make it an issue.

What happens is that it turns into a snowball and actually becomes such a focus that I can’t ignore it any longer.

When you read below you’ll think why is she having such an issue, but you will learn with me that it is about the principle. I can not stand by and observe something when in principle – ethically, morally or even just my own opinion and value system is being challenged or compromised.

You see I am vegetarian – if you need to put me in a box its lacto-vegetarian. By definition I eat no meat whatsoever (including chicken and fish – but please don’t get me started on that! People asking when I state I’m vegetarian “oh so you eat chicken or fish”, what the??!!) I do eat milk, cheese and yogurt, can’t go without my milkshakes! I am like a child who is searching for that red flavoured drink at a party if I haven’t had a milkshake in a week.  Finally, I don’t choose to eat eggs but in contradiction you will never catch me turning down a piece of cake! I.e. I will eat food with egg as ingredient but not the main ingredient.

Now, I thought Id had the fights and arguments I needed to have in this lifetime regarding this matter – god knows what for really, but my teenage years were filled with large disagreements with my parents, my mum in particular about not eating meat.  Her rationale was only because “that’s what you do”(eat meat) and “what about the nutritional requirements”.  She did have a small point in that initially I just excluded meat from my diet (Id never eaten egg anyway) so therefore at times my levels for some vitamins may have been questionable.  Slowly these arguments fizzled out as my family got used to this being my way of living.  My mum likes to justify it to people, “she just doesn’t like the taste of it” which is true but over the past 5 years the rationale and intention has been tweaked. (Again will not going into all now)

This brings me to the present.  Children bring a whole other dimension to people’s opinions.  It has flawed me that people feel they have a right to regularly share their opinion on my choice, our choice to bring the children up as vegetarian.  Now I am fairly polite with people and tend to reflect back to them their own choices.

To be honest it did take me a little while to be confident to stick with this choice as I too reverted to the “nutritional requirements” not wanting DHS (protective services) to come knocking on my door that I was not feeding my child meat! My son was introduce to meat at 6 months but became primarily vegetarian by 2 years of age with the occasional chicken nugget. My will and intention was cemented when we had our 2nd child and she was not introduced to meat until other family members gave her chicken nuggets, although I would say she has only had a handful if that (unless there is something I dont know!)  We are now with our 3rd child and just commencing solids.  She will not be introduced to meat, unless of course she chooses this when she has the ability to do so with greater understanding and informed choice, this has also made way for the tightening of guidelines for the other two.  It was always the intention that meat eating would be a choice for them later down the track but it was my fault in not enforcing the request with other family members more stringently. They have always been aware of our choices but seemed to have felt they had some exemption. Now this is where my patience has been tested.

Well this is their lucky day. I have finally had enough and if you choose to go against my wishes I will have no choice but to refuse you access at meal times.  What I am finding extremely difficult “to stomach” is that I feel at times people are choosing to give them meat because “they are missing out”.  Therefore making a choice to go against our request.  This is the main reason I have turned a blind eye as I really don’t want to have to confront family members about this and make relationships uncomfortable.  But it has come to the point where it will be said.

My little people are very healthy and happy and I do not feel they are lacking at all. Each to their own I say, but do as I request for my children as I have been allocated as their caretakers.  They have chosen me for that reason.

So, is there issues that you have with others regarding choices for your child or yourself?  What have you had enough of with having to justify yourself?  Have any of your relationships become tenuous because of differences of opinion or expressing them.  Have you been the opposite and felt you had to say something to someone?

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Meat and Three Veg? Ah thats a No!

  1. I think it is really wrong when people go against parent’s wishes on what they feed their children. I don’t think anyone else has the right to make that call for you. Stick to your guns and bring your beautiful children up exactly how you want to. x

    Posted by Annieb25 | September 21, 2010, 12:45 pm
  2. I totally get where you’re coming from. But I don’t think the battle soley lies with the non-meat eating tot, once you have a child that starts solids, it seems to be that everyone has an opinion on what they can and can’t eat. I said “no” to someone who offered my son a choc frog at 7 months of age. I say “no” to pieces of bread because I know that he can’t manage it yet and I get scoffed at. I “go by the book” in terms of what they can eat at certain ages etc. and my parents’ generation are the ones that “condemn” modern practice. “In our day we…” – just like when you’re pregnant. “We didn’t have to watch what we ate when we were pregnant.” We are the ones raising our children. What we say goes, and I don’t think we should feel guilty for saying no or stipulating what our children can and can’t eat. But why do we? We are the experts on our children.

    Posted by Dani | September 21, 2010, 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

