//
you're reading...
Relationships

Its not me. It’s you.

An interesting scenario was presented to me the other day whereby someone I know is friends with their GP. They see them on some social occasions but also see them as a patient.

So it has always interested me as to what if they disagree with the treatment recommended, or diagnosis given. I know I don’t always agree with what is being said and at least question it if I didn’t.  I know that the said person could question also but does it impact upon their relationship? Personally, professionally or both?

Saying this, it could happen anyway. Have you disagreed with your doctor and eventually got to the point of wanting to find another one? Have you told the doctor before you finished up or did you slip away into the night never to be seen again?  Even more avoidant did you say you were leaving the area and therefore had to source a new GP when you really weren’t leaving?

I know having my hairdresser go on maternity leave gave me an excuse to find a new hairdresser. I really liked the way she did my hair originally but it got to the point of not being as happy.  I also didn’t think there was any other options to have as a hairdresser at that salon (Yes I am fussy) so I looked elsewhere.  At first I did feel like a traitor and would walk on the opposite side of the road to the salon  or with dark glasses and looking the other way if I was passing the shop front.

We make relationships with these people. They know our husbands and partners names; how we spend our Saturday night; how many children if any we may have; how we have our coffee and most importantly whether we do or don’t get along with our mother in law.

So have you ever had a “break up” with your GP, hairdresser, dentist, shoe salesman or someone else?  How did it go? End in tears? Funny story?

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Its not me. It’s you.

  1. I don’t really have a hairdresser but I find at work (an accountants) we take it kind of personally when people don’t come back. But we shouldn’t, because sometimes, people just want to try something different, see if they are missing out or really just don’t want what we are giving.

    I always reckon it’s tough to mix friends and business. Rarely works out well.

    Great post xxx

    Posted by Bern Morley | October 21, 2010, 8:53 pm
  2. Like your piece. Definitely not keen on mixing business r/ship with personal; way too messy!
    My friend was trying to find someone to cut her little boy’s hair for his first hair cut. Her friend is a hair dresser and offered to do it; she wasn’t happy with it and felt bad about not taking him back when it grew longer again. She then had her sister cut it. This actually DID end in tears, yelling and lots of swearing. Apparently she had left the house briefly to do something and come back to his beautiful curls all being cut off. It really doesn’t look that bad, but I don’t think she is over the trauma yet! Least it was her sister so she could say what she really thought!

    Posted by c-o | October 26, 2010, 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

