//
you're reading...
Behaviour, Favourite Things, Mental Health

Love – Hate

Dear Computer,

I hate you! Well that’s a bit harsh. Sometimes you irritate me, frustrate me and annoy me.  But yes I know most of the time I love you.

Last night, well early hours of this morning is more correct I placed myself on a Twitter ban and didn’t do much else with facebook either until late tonight.  The computer unfortunately still got a work out as I had other sites I needed to use to order items instead of going to the shop.  You see that’s what is so good about the computer.  Why I love it so much. I can do my errands – pay bills and get school items. I can order online from groceries to make up, books and gifts, I can speak to people I have never physically met, on Twitter or I can keep in touch with those who have come into my life over the years on facebook.

Yes I do spend a lot of time on it – some say I have an obsession with social media. I even have a cousin who says I’m a stalker. I don’t think I go that far.  If people put the information up then its there to see but I don’t comb the profiles of every person on my list to absorb their daily undertakings.

Today was another example of why these forums are so meaningful. I had a quick scan of the tweets for the day and realised that one beautiful person who I have connected briefly with on Twitter had suffered an unimaginable loss that was completely unexpected and yet fellow tweeps (technical term as we know) were rallying around to support her within the twitter and blogging communities. Some have met one another. Others have not, yet the human spirit and connectivity although in 140 characters or less can produce such supportive and meaningful relationships.  Sure there can be disagreements and negativity but it depends how you view it and ultimately how you handle it. Honestly, I pick and choose carefully and I don’t think I could say I have any negative or callous people on my list. Just this evening many were checking on others ensuring they were doing ok in the floods in Queensland and I’m sure if word was put out there needing assistance, help would be there.

It’s not all seriousness though and I love the jokes and innuendo that gets tossed back and forth. The normalcy it affirms when people speak of the never ending washing basket, the cost of groceries, where they are holidaying, what their pets are doing and what buttons are being pressed.  You know that some like minded being feels very similar if not the same.Then there is facebook.  It has its ups and downs with many people regularly threatening to take their profiles down or seeing people pop on and off your list.  But for me I love the fact that a lot of my relatives are on there. We can keep contact when in different states or different countries for that matter and still have the connectedness you do when they are at home.  You can catch up with old school friends and support them in life’s events, good or bad as you know where they’ve come from and sometimes how best to help and then there is the new friendships that help you to keep in touch if you change jobs, play sport together, have a common interest or you meet like minded souls on twitter and let them share your life further.

Sometimes though it can get overwhelming spending too much time at the computer. Sometimes it can encourage isolation and reduced physical activity.  I’m sure some days my energy levels are affected by the computer/iphone usage.  I’m sure people’s relationships have suffered in one way or another with excessive contact hours [luckily mine will still have me =)]. Balance is important. Time at and away is important.

So it’s been on my mind for awhile. I know I’m smart enough to organise a schedule and to limit time. But that’s not my personality. Yes I am a procrastinator and I really do have to work out how to balance this love-hate out as I know it’s not in my best interest.

So what do you have a love-hate relationship with? Do you have to balance? How do you balance? Share your thoughts xx

Dear Computer,

I love you for Google, I love you for writing my blog, I love you to check the BOM website and I love you so I can read other people’s blogs – Yes I know I don’t comment often. (Tut-Tut). You know I love you for Twitter and Facebook. There is so much more I love you for.  Don’t ever leave =)

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Love – Hate

  1. Great post Cath, beautifully written.
    I too love how close you can become with people you have never even met, how it’s an instant contact tool to touch base with my family and friends I don’t see everyday. It’s become what my home phone used to mean to me – though I didn’t spend hours aimlessly wandering around my phone shopping, reading and researching. Personally, Social Networking has eaten up alot of productivity time for me this last year. So I have now made a decision to limit my time on fb and Twitter. I think this year I need to concentrate on face to face relationships, especially in my line of work. For me, it’s time to schedule time to forward my business and start stepping onto my goal path.
    I will fall off the wagon a fair bit I dare say…

    Posted by Jade | January 11, 2011, 9:48 am
  2. Hi Cath,
    very interesting to read your thoughts. The computer and internet are pretty amazing. Especially with the floods in Queensland.
    It’s great that you don’t reveal your name or photo so you keep your name a bit anonymous and can truly be yourself. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a photo of your face.
    I appreciate and respect that you dare to be different with your interest in spirituality. What does purple mean to you? I like that you know of Brian Weiss and his work, knowing that gives me an idea of where you’re coming from. Have you ever had a past life regression? We like Doreen Virtue’s Archangel Oracle cards too.
    Thanks for being *you*. You’re different. “Differentiated” or “Individuated.”
    I respect people who are willing to stand out from the crowd as individuals with substance.
    Frances

    Posted by Frances Jones | January 13, 2011, 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

