//
you're reading...
Behaviour, Karma, Mindfulness

My Name Is Earl

A few weeks ago I wrote a post on friendship. As I said I do believe people come in and out of our lives for a reason.  Although in saying that though I am not a cold-hearted person and do think of those that have left my life. Either through disagreement, less contact or just growing apart.  I’m also not saying I’m perfect either. I have “grown up” and I have matured [mostly ;)] but there were times in my past that I know I wasnt the best person I could be at that point in time. I also know I have to take some responsibility for certain events or issues. As they say there is always three sides to a story – mine, theirs and the truth.

I’ve thought about this concept for a while particularly when the show My Name Is Earl started. I wasnt a regular viewer but what I did like is the concept.
The intro to the show:
“You know the kind of guy who does nothing but bad things and then wonders why his life sucks? Well, that was me. Every time something good happened to me, something bad was always waiting round the corner: Karma. That’s when I realized that I had to change, so I made a list of everything bad I’ve ever done and one by one I’m gonna make up for all my mistakes. I’m just trying to be a better person. My Name is Earl.”

Not that I was living a life of poor choices and getting myself into trouble or even had the mindset that ‘nothing but bad things happen’. I have never really been like that.  But the idea of living in your own truth and leaving your ego at the door wasnt necessarily the rules of my game.  Yes its maturity and I doubt whether many of us have been that clean and pure.

Importantly though I like Earl’s concept. Imagine if I could write my list of those I feel I wasnt the best I could be to or where a misunderstanding occurred or where I hurt someone. I could then go back and rectify the karma by helping that person that was on my list.

In the past I admit that I liked the concept but I wanted to see the karma occur. Mainly for one specific issue. I eventually let go of that control as who is it really affecting…..the person in question doesn’t know that’s what I’m waiting for. So I’m holding onto unnecessary negative energy day in and day out waiting for the karma that may not even occur in this lifetime.

I am fascinated by the concept of Karma and the thought that if certain issues and Karma haven’t been rectified in one lifetime with a particular person that you may meet them again in another life. Karma isn’t necessarily ‘bad’ either. Some karmic connections have positive outcomes and the connecting karmic cord is that strong.

Personally I hope some people continue to come into my lives to process karmic connections. Others, I hope the door hits them on their butt as they leave my life – yep great karma talk =)

So do you have people on your “list” that you would like to correct the karma balance with? Not because it makes you feel better but because it’s the right thing to do? Or you honestly feel you were in the wrong?

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “My Name Is Earl

  1. Big believer in Karma here, positive and negative. There’s a list of people I would like to apologise to, to make it right but it’s beyond me where you would even start on a project like that and would they even really care?

    Posted by Jade | May 31, 2011, 9:04 am
  2. Oh, yes. I have a couple on my list…

    Posted by Troy | May 31, 2011, 10:49 pm
  3. This is a great post. I’m a huge believer in karma and have been on the receiving end of both good and bad karma. It’s such a powerful thing. xx

    Posted by AmeliaMW | June 1, 2011, 9:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

