//
you're reading...
Anxiety, Family

Everyday Heroes

You know how there is so much you want to say but can’t find the words?…… You know how there’s something you are so fearful of but you can’t do anything about it…..You know how there’s some things that you have no control over and you have to let it play out. Yep….That.

Three weeks ago another Australian soldier lost his life in Afghanistan and there was the wounding of 2 others. They were performing clearance operations.

My heart sank to the pit of my stomach and tears instantly rolled down my face. This was getting too real, too close for comfort. The intensity of the situation felt like a heavy breath on the back of my neck and there it has stayed, flowing in and out but unable to be controlled.

Last weekend I said my ” so long, see you later” to my cousin. He is 21. My cousin left to serve for the Australian Army in Afghanistan. This is crap. Technical Term of course.

Defence Chief Angus Houston included among other thoughts in his opening address to the media regarding this loss “We need to steel ourselves for further loss.” Ah the further loss of another 3 soldiers. Bringing the total to 4 in just 16 days. How much stronger and steely do you suggest we need to become? Ok so maybe I’m a bit sensitive at the moment. But really I don’t care. I was over this scenario before it had begun. I’ve been praying this moment was never going to come. That we would pull out our Australian Troops before it got to the stage of having to be deployed to this horrible nasty place.(*censorship is in place at this point in time*)

I can’t even begin to imagine what it is like but from some simple information, that I’m sure has been cleaned up for my pretty little ears this next 8 months for him and his comrades is going to be close to living hell. Freezing cold nights, stinking hot and dusty days, camp beds, close living spaces. Not to mention “confrontations” and the usual noises you have while sleeping in a war zone – planes, gunshots, bombing and explosions. What a magnificent sleep he will have. More the point how does he get off to sleep in the first place.

So I’ve sent him off with his little care parcel packed full of goodies that are going to be oh so useful (not) but I ask myself, what else am I supposed to do than sit here and twiddle my thumbs, Oh and do my freaking head in and pretend whilst doing the mundane day-to-day activities that he’s absolutely fine!

On the day of my cousins departure one of those soldiers who lost his life was being said goodbye to by his family. Lieutenant Marcus Case.

The terms being bandied about to described the scenarios- Gun fire exchanges and IED scouring. Yes they’re too close to home.

What truly made me catch my breath and feel like I was being barrelled in a set of waves with all those irrational thoughts was a beautiful twitter friend, The NDM who lost her brother-in-law, Sergeant Brett Wood.

I’m scared. I’m worried. I cry.

I know many have gone before him and many will go after him. Although now I truly understand what praying for a peaceful world means. When your own blood relative is in a life endangering situation the rules change. It is instinctual without a doubt.  My cousins are like brothers and sisters to me. The bond is significant and we will step up into a position of protection- emotional and physical, without hesitation. To know that I can’t be there for him is very difficult. I have to trust those ‘brothers’ have adopted this responsibility for me.

I can only imagine the position that mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters and children find themselves in with a troop, their troop in the line of fire. My thoughts go out to you to keep you strong.

Whether I believe in the “war on terror” or not. Whether I believe in  going to war or not. I support my cousin and our troops because this is what they want to do. They want to defend their country and they want to do this occupation. This is the thing. Within my cousins whole self he believes he has a job to do.

May images like those below keep us positive and willing our loved ones to return home exactly the same way they left us- safe and in one piece.

This beautiful page is where the above footage originated, you can see all the American Troops return home.It would be great to see an Australian tribute page

This is a link to the men who have lost their lives serving our country in Afghanistan. Rest In Peace. Lest We Forget. We are grateful.

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Everyday Heroes

  1. Oh that video did me in. Tears. Great tribute and post Cath xx

    Posted by Bern | June 16, 2011, 9:41 am
  2. Cathy, I can’t ever imagine being in this position – saying goodbye to someone I love who is going in to a war zone. I don’t know how my grandma bore it when my Pop went off to PNG for 4 years. There simply are no words of comfort. I really feel for you and all the people that love others who go to a war zone. Whatever their reasons for going, nobody truly chooses it. Many hugs x

    Posted by Yvette Vignando | June 16, 2011, 8:44 pm
  3. Cath, your cousin is truly an everyday hero. A young man who, when all his mates are going to nightclubs and having fun, is risking his life. He will see things that he will never want to speak of again. But he will also know that deep, enduring friendship that we can only wonder at each ANZAC Day. It is a friendship forged in steel. How I wish that no more young men and women would ever get to experience that. But to the ones who will, like your Sam, my admiration and respect knows no bounds. You know? The blog I look forward to is the one you get to write when he and his mates come home safely.

    Posted by Liz | June 16, 2011, 9:27 pm
  4. I don’t know what to say. Sorry this situation is taking you over…
    I have relatives who’ve all had to do National Service, in their country it’s compulsory. That means every single parent, brother, sister, friend, cousin etc has known what you feel now and likely have been there themselves. I simply can’t imagine living that way. Hugs xxx

    Posted by Twitchy | June 17, 2011, 1:10 am
  5. Great post mate. Video brought me to tears. Whilst not as close to cousin mentioned here, he is like a second cousin to me and my family. I know that my emotional response to his leaving for war would only be a fraction of yours and I am thinking of you all while he is away and praying that he comes home safely. He has grown up so much and, talking to him at his “see ya later” party, I felt so proud of him. Regardless of my feelings on the war, it helped to listen to him speak about his role and his pride at being chosen from amongst his peer to go and do something he has been training so hard to do. He does not see himself as being “sent” to war, he worked his butt off so he could go. He believes in what he is doing and I believe in him. May God bring him home to his family safely x

    Posted by C-O | June 29, 2011, 10:33 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Merry Christmas! « Precocious Lotus - December 7, 2011

  2. Pingback: When the student is ready the teacher appears « Precocious Lotus - February 27, 2012

  3. Pingback: When the student is ready the teacher appears « Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday - May 22, 2012

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas! « Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday - May 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

