//
you're reading...
Inspiration

It’s just a bike race…or is it?

Yes I am bad…give me an Australian playing, achieving, doing well and my heart swells with pride. Give me a television, a sport and an Australian and I start yelling, barracking and now tweeting.

I find this a difficult component of my personality to turn off. Yes I could just follow and be happy but I love to express it. I love feeling the highs and willing through the lows and overall passion and competitiveness to win whatever the event is that is taking place. I admit I don’t always watch that particularly sport for the whole 12 months of the year but on the verge of achievement and doing well and I’m there. Full of country pride.

To some it may be jumping on the bandwagon, to others it may appear an irrelevant activity or as I heard about the Tour de France “its just a bike race”.

I disagree. Not only does this pull together the country and community into oneness. It fosters passion, pride, respect and relationships. Most importantly and what this post is about, is that it shines the light clearly upon setting and achieving your goals and how we go about doing that. Depending on the goal or activity the plan will be different but the commitment, the emotion involved and the analysis will all be very similar.

Yes in the whole scheme of life and the world it does not compare to the recent tragedies of Norway and the tragic loss of life and shift in community psyche to fear in one short time in space. I do not for one minute disrespect these souls and their family.

Though we need these positive, inspiring moments in life, we need people like Cadel Evans in our life to show us the positives, show us what hard work can do. Show us what goal setting and achievement can do.

If we can learn inner strength, resilience and mental toughness by a man riding a bike through mountains then he has had an impact.

Who are we to judge what is and isn’t worthy of igniting passion?

It’s not just a bike race. Nothing is ever as it appears. Let’s not take away from what each person chooses to do with their life. If they are listening to their inner voice and knowing, they are a lot further along their journey than some people.

As the well known quote motivates to dream big. “Shoot for the moon, because even if you miss you’ll land among the stars”.

Enjoy Cadel’s ride tonight, feel the emotion, use the passion and light your own light from his bright light that he worked hard for- his won’t dull, it will only make him brighter. Tonight he will stand on the podium on Avenue des Champs-Élysées with the Arc de Triomphe as the backdrop and know that he has achieved a life long dream. Meanwhile, back here in his home country someone will be inspired to follow their dream.

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “It’s just a bike race…or is it?

  1. Great post. It is so exciting (tho I won’t be watching) It does foster passion and pride. xx

    Posted by Michelle DennisEvans | July 24, 2011, 9:24 pm
  2. I love that your part of YOU gets the sporting, cheering & encouraging thing happening… I get like this at times, especially when there is someone doing a come-back or similar … Because I empathize with the effort that have been taken to “bounce” back.
    The first step is just the first step.. Then it’s repeated … Like the first roll of the wheels for those cyclists. Gee I had such a feeling of awe watching Cadel’s legs, pumping, pushing & it was like “effortless” he!

    Posted by Denyse | July 24, 2011, 9:48 pm
  3. Well said. Just because the world is full of tragedy does’t mean we should gloss over the good stuff. I’ll be cheerIng on my own in my lounge room.

    Posted by Julie | July 24, 2011, 9:55 pm
  4. Honey we are two peas in a pod. I was bawling my eyes out when Tina Arena sang the national anthem. I bawled my eyes out Saturday night hearing the anthem before the Wallabies game. I love the collective energy of sporting events whether it be a team I support or a national team. I worked for the Sydney Olympics and being able to attend so many different sporting events was one of the greatest thrills. And! not just cheering for Australian teams but the guy coming last in the swimming pool from a country many people had never heard of. I love humans who give their all and bust their guts to win or lose.

    An aside on the TdF – I can barely manage a 45 minute spin class so sitting on a bike for 3500kms!!!!! Is unfathomable to me. And this win was 20 years!!!! in the making. I get chills thinking about it.

    For me…… it’s a love of sports, but a lover of energy and sporting events big and small produce amazing energy. Not just for the crowd but for the participant athlete. The first marathon I ever ran was Boulder backroads….. middle of nowhere, hills, no crowds, just me, the road and about 1000 other runners……. THE NEXT marathon was the Chicago Marathon. 100’s of thousands of spectators, strangers yelling out your name or bid number; that energy made me take 45 minutes!!!! off my original marathon time.

    Somewhere in Australia there is a girl or boy who will remember this day. They may take up a love of cycling and avoid weight issues in the future, they may be inspired to want to win the TdF or just take up cycling. Cadel’s win today is Australian sporting history, it will make me get out of bed tomorrow and do that 5:45am yoga class and who knows who else it will inspire.

    Posted by Jules George | July 25, 2011, 9:40 pm
    • We are very similar and I totally agree re: the spin class! ha! Well done you on your marathons. Thats one thing I dont know if I’ll ever attempt. I suppose I have to try it once =) Thanks for the comment xx

      Posted by Author | August 3, 2011, 1:28 am

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

