//
you're reading...
Behaviour, Intuition, Pondering

What If?

As usual this is a post that sits floating for a while then gets confirmation by another event.

Thinking of the events of 10 years ago on 9/11 during the week took me back to a thought I have had and I’m sure many of you can concur.

What if?

What if I hadn’t been so determined to attend the secondary school I wanted to go to. Would my life have been different? Probably. Would I have met the same people? Probably not. Would I have received the same results and still become a psychologist? I don’t know.

Sliding doors the movie…I totally got that concept. It played out the thoughts I had long-held in my head.

What if I hadn’t applied for that job in the country down the coast. Would I have stayed with my long-term boyfriend? Would I have met Mr Pisces anyway?

What if I acted differently in certain situations, friendships or stressful situations?

What if I had have stopped by my grandmas the day of her stroke as I had thought to instead of brushing off the thought and justifying I would see her in a few days? What if?

And those 2977 people who lost their lives. What if they hadn’t entered the building that day or got on that flight? Those thousands of people who for whatever reason didn’t enter the building that day or didn’t catch that flight. Do they ever think what if?

I’m not wanting to change anything. And I know we can’t change anything. I know it’s not helpful to ruminate. But I do like to ponder.

Have you ever thought about it? Has anything significant happened that you reflected upon and thought that’s a sliding doors moment? Or what could’ve been?

Those beautiful souls of 9/11 who lost their lives : You are always in our thoughts. A day that we all remember where we were. Our what if’s can’t bring you back. But we will always be remembering.

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “What If?

  1. I do the what if. What if I hadn’t gone out that night and ‘properly’ met Phil. Or worked where I have worked and met who I have met. I don’t want to change anything either. I asked Phil’s dad once if he regretted moving to QLD from Sydney (they lost a lot of money doing so) and he said to me ‘No, because then Phil wouldn’t have met you’. Sweetest thing anyone has ever said I think. xxx

    Posted by Bern Morley | September 12, 2011, 7:53 am
  2. Yes, it is a thought that rises within me a bit. A lot. Actually! I have to ‘fight’ it sometimes too. We, hub and I, would be significantly better off financially if we hadn’t let egos (ours) get in front of sensible thoughts. So, we sold a house with little mortgage to build H U G E one, with mortgage that matched…to only lose it, essentially, when hub’s ills worsened. This was 13 years ago. But, I regret that action. He regrets it too. Yet, if we are honest we still would have made that choice, because how did we know its effect? Not death. Just a different less financially secure life, and I find that a challenge..but I also think..”what lesson am I learning?’
    Oh, yes, thanks, for making us think…again…dear P.L. XXX

    Posted by Denyse Whelan (@Denwise1) | September 12, 2011, 8:40 am
  3. My sliding doors moment was missing a train as a result of a hangover, back in my student days in the late 1980’s. If I had made the “right” train, I would have been in Kings Cross underground station, catching a connecting train. Over 30 people were killed in a very bad fire, and over a hundred terribly burned and injured. Horrific. I thank goodness I was a slightly irresponsible student who missed that train.

    (On a totally different note, I have a post brewing re your DM;s the other night!)

    xx

    Posted by Diminishing Lucy | September 12, 2011, 1:29 pm
  4. I do it. All. The. Time. It’s actually not productive for me. More times than most I just ponder on things I haven’t done. If I had just stopped faffing about…. 😉

    However, it’s not all doom and gloom. I was writing a post once trying to map out my life at those crossroads moments but I got all confused. My post was titled Life Is A Chance Phenomenon vs LIfe is What You Make It. I’ll have to revisit it one day.

    If i hadn’t broken up with my boyfriend I wouldn’t have met my husband. If I had fought my parents harder then I may have ended up marrying my boyfriend.

    If my daughter wasn’t born when she was (she’s an accident) then the rest of my children would be completely different too.

    If I hadn’t said ‘screw it I’m going to NNB2011’ then I wouldn’t have met you in person xx

    Love & stuff
    Mrs M

    Posted by Maria Tedeschi (Mum's Word) | September 12, 2011, 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

