//
you're reading...
Behaviour, Identity, Mothering, Parenting, Self

When does the adult switch turn on?

Image Credit

Some days I seriously wonder what I’m doing with three little people. I know I was pregnant with them and gave birth to them and looked after their every need emotionally and physically  – feeding, bathing, clothing and ensuring they had sleep. I look at them as they get older and think, really are they mine?

There are some days I truly wonder if I am an adult. I could slip quite easily back into the teenage years.

I sometimes think to myself, when is this adult switch going to turn on. Do you feel any different? Is there a certain age that you think to yourself ‘Yes I well and truly am an adult now’.

It’s not even being put in a situation of feeling like a child. I don’t get treated in this way I just don’t feel like an adult adult. It’s not the adult when you leave school that’s a different adult. I can be that one I think.

I’m inconsistent with the forms from school and kinder, I continue to rebel with school uniform requirements to a small degree, I whinge in my mind, (not a loud of course as they will catch on) about having to eat veggies every night for dinner, I do the school drop offs and pick ups, parent teacher interviews, medical appointments etc etc.. but yet I still feel like a kid sometimes, like I’m pretending.

I try really hard to be formal, mature and organised. But I love to wing it, love to kick back and I’m happy having fun with my little people. Dont get me wrong it’s not all tea parties and park visits, I set the rules and boundaries as I know I have to. I know if I don’t set them nobody else will.

I’m truly starting to understand the phrase. The body ages but the mind stays the same. I can’t imagine myself as an 80-year-old yet I can imagine I would still giggle at the most stupid jokes. I can’t imagine thinking to do an action yet my body is incapable of doing so. Or having to choose more appropriate shoes and clothing for my age as it’s just not suitable to be fashioned in this way. I know it’s about society’s rules and conforming but how many 80 year olds have you seen walking around with killer heels or singlet tops and jeans. Or cons and some cargo shorts with a captioned emblazoned tee.

I don’t necessarily think I am immature but rather young at heart and I can’t see the adult switch to turn it on. Do I have to?

I’m off to school this morning to do another parent helper stint. Im fairly good at acting I think 😉

So has your switch flicked on? At what point did it flick on? Am I just slow to catch on?

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “When does the adult switch turn on?

  1. Same boat as you babe, only I’m a few years ahead of you! Every time I sit in a principal’s office or talk to a doctor about my kids, no matter how well I’m presenting externally, inside my head I’m thinking ‘how the fuck did THIS happen’?

    I have one child about to finish primary school this year, my baby about to start school next year and all the time I ask myself: why are they in such a hurry and when am I going to actually feel grown up? xx

    Posted by Twitchy | September 19, 2011, 12:32 am
  2. Hey when I WAS the school principal I’d think “who is saying these words of wisdom & authority to these people” .,,, I think one of reasons I share connections with you & Twitchy & all is that none of us are grown ups for all of our days & nights… Just ‘tending!

    Posted by Denyse Whelan | September 19, 2011, 1:04 am
  3. I was so relieved to read this! I thought I was the only one who felt this way! It’s all about the facade isn’t it! Now that I’m as old or older than some of the teachers it’s even weirder! Great blog

    Posted by Mel c | September 19, 2011, 6:38 am
  4. Where can I get one of those badges?

    Posted by Yvette Vignando (@yvettevignando) | September 19, 2011, 10:56 am
  5. I think when you work with kids, it means that the child inside is always there, hence the connection with children.
    Mr 6 and even Miss 15 say Mum you’re really a big kid. I prefer it this way, like you it does keep us young at heart and I believe you laugh a lot more with the inner child always with you. Like Yvette says put me down for a bdge too. Nx

    Posted by Nathalie Brown | September 19, 2011, 12:31 pm
  6. I feel exactly the same. I know I can act like a grown up when I want to, and a Mum and a soon to be wife and all, but at the end of the day, I’m still the girl I was 20 years ago. I like to see it as a good thing! xx

    Posted by Shelley | September 19, 2011, 12:43 pm
  7. I think the most important point you made is that its not about being immature but young at heart. As kid1 approaches the end of secondary school(still shocks me!) and kid3 finishes primary,many years have gone by yet I still ‘feel’ the same. Why must we stop being a little “silly’, laughing at really crappy juvenile jokes,listening to new music on the radio(and embarrassing our teens when you sing along out loud in the car:))…I hope it never stops, I think we lose the magic of just being who we are if you completely conform to societies image/facade of proper ‘adult’ behaviour. I say boundaries,rules ,love, support and FUN all in equal measure…the signs of the new and revised version of the modern ‘adult’ and parent:)

    Posted by MsgetREAL | September 19, 2011, 1:10 pm
  8. I totally get this too! Whilst I do feel totally natural in my role as mum, I do sometimes stop and think “when did this all happen?” the part I love most about holding onto the inner child is getting to relive my favorite childhood games with my girls. Colouring in, fisher price little people, dolls, hide and seek etc.
    The other thing I have noticed – I love skate shoes but once I got to late 20s and being a mum I thought “I need to get grown up shoes.” I did buy a few pairs of smart casual shoes but in the end I went back to the skate shoes – you’re only as old as you feel right?

    Posted by Mama R | September 19, 2011, 8:35 pm
  9. I’m with you 100%. I think it’s important to retain a little bit of childlike behaviour. There’s something so magical and innocent about it.
    I still hope I’ll be an ultra cool 80 year old. Time will tell. 😉
    Great post! xx

    Posted by Amelia {Weddings, Babies... Everything} | September 19, 2011, 9:28 pm
  10. Oh yeah! I actually feel vindicated in some way, not because I think I’m still a kid but when I was a kid I was having responsible adult like thoughts and convictions. So kind of the reverse of what you are saying.

    You know how when you’re a teenager you think you are ignored or dismissed a little too easily. I used to hear all the time “wait until you’re older….have a job…get married….have kids….. blah blah blah….your opinion will change”.

    Yeah well you know what? It hasn’t. I got it right the first time so stick that in your pipe and smoke it. Is that an infantile response? 😉

    Love this post.

    Love & stuff
    Mrs M

    Posted by Maria Tedeschi (Mum's Word) | September 27, 2011, 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

