//
you're reading...
Adult psychology, Behaviour, Change, Children, Family, Inspiration, Life, Mindfulness, Mothering, New Beginnings, Parenting, Pondering, Relationships, Self

Always learning.

{Image Credit}

Mama R has been whipping out the blog posts for me. You may have to slow down lovely as I’ll have to put you on the payroll 😉

In this beautiful post Mama R reflects and realises the journey of a year and all its worth. Thank you beautiful. Wishing you a wonderful 2012  ~XX~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s New Year’s Eve, and I have just put the kids to bed. Daddy R is on night shift and I have declined a couple of invitations to barbeques as decided that the girls needed a quiet night. In truth, right now an actual “quiet” night would be a perfect way to see in the New Year. All I wanted for Christmas was a good night sleep, but I guess Santa got distracted. I do love my new wallet though J.Back to the topic however, I really enjoyed my early evening with my gorgeous girls and just soaked them in. Something I know I need to do more often. It made me think about New Year’s Eve and seeing in the New Year.Perhaps I am actually able to reflect on this concept both broadly and personally because I am not distracted by parties, eating and drinking.

New Year’s Eve is a time where it seems many people start making “resolutions” for the coming year. I like this concept really; changing things in your life to make you happier, more peaceful or healthier. But how many resolutions do we actually stick to? I’ve made plenty over the years; walk the dogs every day, send a birthday card to every extended family member, go to the gym 3 times a week, eat healthier, be more positive. Some are measurable, others not so. Success has varied. I wonder though, if we made more time for reflection on the year that was, that it would create a ripple on effect and the changes we wish for or resolve to have in our lives would occur more naturally. So that is what I am going to do… now.

This year saw a new addition to my little family. Along with Little Girl 2 came a bunch of experiences and an enormous learning curve; right from day 1.

I learnt that I am both stronger and weaker than I imagined. I learnt that by trusting myself and having faith that I can achieve amazing things but I also learnt that I have vulnerabilities of which I was previously unaware.

I learnt that I had a rule book in my head about what a good mother was and what she should do. I learnt that trying to live to these ideals was exhausting and unachievable; that I just need to do the best I can. I also learnt to throw the book away.

I learnt that just because I have had a baby before, does not mean it is easier the second time; it’s just different. I learnt that I need to enjoy my girls and that the housework can wait.

I learnt that I can live on a lack of sleep for much longer than I thought but that focusing on this is unhelpful for me and I am much better off going to bed as early as possible. The sleepless nights will end (hopefully!).

I learnt that Daddy R and I are an awesome team. I love him more now than I ever did.

Other things I learnt were not so much related to my children or role as a mother.

I learnt that social media can be a friend and foe. That it brings out the best and worst in people but that, like life, I can choose to see the best and put energy into those people who enrich my life.

I learnt that (not for the first time) I cannot control what people think or say about me, I can only control my actions and know that I did not deliberately mean to hurt or upset anyone.

I learnt that I have something to give others from my professional knowledge and experience, even on maternity leave.

I learnt that I tend to focus on how far it is to travel to my friends and family, rather than how close they really are.

I learnt that exercise makes me feel better in myself; it’s not just about the fitness.

I learnt that writing helps me process things and was surprised and pleased that people might want to read it.

So that’s me! As I write it all down, I can see the resolutions that will flow on from these things I have learnt. I hope I have learnt them well enough that I don’t trip up but deep down know that much of it I will need to continue to work at and that that’s ok. I have had a wonderful year but a challenging year; the great thing is that I go through relatively unscathed and am ready to do it all again.

What did you learn in 2011? How will this impact your New Year?

Thank you for reading the few pieces I have had on this blog over the year. Thank you Precocious Lotus for having me on but more importantly for the wonderful pieces you write. They make me reflect and for that I am a better person.

Happy New Year and all the best for 2012! May your reflections fulfil your resolutions.

Mama R x

{Image Credit}

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Always learning.

  1. I love this xxx
    Beautiful post about some wonderful lessons. different lessons, but feels very similar to my learnings from 2011.
    Thank you for sharing this straight from your heart.
    K xx

    Posted by Kathryn | January 4, 2012, 9:39 pm
  2. Just gorgeous. xx

    Posted by Jade | January 4, 2012, 9:57 pm
  3. Well written. It definately made me reflect on the year that was 2011. What did I learn? Firstly that time moves quickly – where did the last 12 months go? I learnt that I am very fortunate to have healthy children, a supportive husband and broader support network. I learnt that it is important to look after myself in order to fulfil my roles as mother/wife/friend/professional. So that is my commitment to myself. Thanks Mama R & Precocious Lotus for all your contributions x

    Posted by Ella | January 4, 2012, 10:14 pm
  4. Nicely written Mama R. 2011 holds similar lessons for me. But some of the things I’ve learnt is there are simply some things in life that I have absolutely no control over whatsoever. I like to have control over things in my life, but I need to let go of control of a number of things.
    I’ve learnt that I need to look after me physically and emotionally, and that if I need to say no to people, then so be it.
    I learnt that you can find friends where you least expect them. I also learnt that even though I forgive and forget that not everyone can do that. I learnt that you can’t please everyone.
    Thanks for sharing your lessons, helped me to reflect on mine 🙂

    Posted by Mum2CJ | January 16, 2012, 10:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

