//
you're reading...
Identity, Inspiration, Life, Mindfulness, Pondering, Relationships, Self, Spirituality

Your Story

{Image Credit}

I was looking over at my old blog for some information and saw a couple of old posts that I liked and thought I could bring them over here. Im sorry if you have read them before but it has been a few years and maybe you have a different perspective and response to them now.

The post below and its theme really resonated with me. Even now, particularly as a new year begins and we get all reflective about what we did and didnt achieve the year before, what we want to achieve in the coming year and in the future.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Over recent weeks I have had a few ‘signs ‘ to check in and keep an eye on what im doing or life will pass me by.
I was sick for a few weeks and obviously not processing life as well as could be expected therefore the reason for my symptoms (see mind-body connection). Then last week I watched the movie Australia. I found a wonderful message in that movie – Hugh Jackman “Drover” says to Nic Kidman who was trying to prevent Nullah (the little aboriginal boy) from going walkabout –

“You have to let him go, otherwise he wont have his story to tell. He needs his story.”

and continued with the explanation.

It got me thinking. What is my story? Do I like my story? What do I want my story to say after its all said and done. Have I stopped other people with following their story with my actions? Importantly, now that I have little people how will I react when they tell me they need to go “walkabout”? Hugh Jackman will whisper in my ear and tell me that they need to go right? Doesnt mean I will deal with it any better. This is something that I think I may need to work on.

What I can do is look at my own walkabout journey and 2012 I’m going to write a magical story. Fairy tales still exist right? I have to be consciously co-creative in the story that I write. Why would I just let it happen without any thought and look back with regret at what I did do but more importantly what I didn’t do because of inaction, unconscious responses and behaviour.

In some ways its like a eulogy but its an active one – one you can change all the time in the future but once something has been done -its permanent and its on the page. Not that theres anything wrong with that but if you really want to have the life you want – its about thinking what your story is that will be told. Theres nothing like the present!

What is your story? Do you like your story? What do you want your story to say?

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Your Story

  1. I think the thing with stories is that you don’t know you’re living it until the moment has passed and you look back with hindsight and reflection.

    Love & stuff
    Mrs M

    Posted by Maria Tedeschi (Mum's Word) | January 6, 2012, 12:54 am
  2. That resonated with me. The story being told is ‘my life’ but as Maria says…often not realised until in reflection mode. I take on board though, that with every action, decision and word, I am creating in others a memory. This makes me more cognisant of my legacy I suppose. Thanks C, for ‘finding the old post’. Meant to be, methinks! D XX

    Posted by Denyse Whelan (@Denwise1) | January 6, 2012, 6:15 am
  3. I like parts of my story. Other parts, not so much. But sometimes it’s the parts you don’t like, that make the most interesting reading …

    Posted by Maid In Australia | January 6, 2012, 10:44 am
  4. i would recommend Kate Grenville’s Sarah Thornhill to you. i have just finished reading it and am still absorbing what the central theme, of your story, means to me … reading this post tonight is another wave of recognition from the universe that only i can take care, nurture, realise and eventually tell my own story. how that affects how i will live my life in the day to day only time will tell. thank you for being another pebble in my pond! xt

    Posted by Tracey Lee Baglin (@traceyb65) | January 6, 2012, 11:36 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Footprints « Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday - September 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

