//
you're reading...
Ceremony, Identity, Intuition, Mindfulness, Self, Spirituality, Symbolism and Signs

Animal Messengers

Whilst I was away last week I decided to take advantage of the lovely beach side town that I used to call home and spent my exercise time hitting the pavement rather than the treadmill. It’s a much nicer view and I honestly miss it.

During my walks most nights I had magpies intercept my path and walk along side me. At first I thought nothing of it, then I realised that they actually appeared when I was thinking certain thoughts or on particular topics.

A crow also visited me whilst at the park on the swing. He/she made sure I noticed them by the way they were flapping about and playing in one spot. Yes strange I know but the kerfuffle made me look up.

Some may say that these are just mere coincidences, that I’m reading too much into seeing some birds in their environment but as you know I believe in coincidences, I believe in signs and I believe in symbolism. These birds were too coincidental to ignore.

So as I usually do when a sign or symbol arrives for me to pay attention to I looked it up. This time I used my trusty Animal Oracle Card deck from Scott Alexander King.

Magpies in his analysis reflect, In brief summary: Balance: “If a magpie has swooped into your cards today, you are being guided to a place of awareness. You are being shown how to better understand the innate marriage between the opposites that are equal and the duality within all things. You are being primed for a deepening of purpose and a broadening of perception…A review of values…It means being ready to walk a path of the heart to find a place of inner freedom.”

Crows speaks about :Law “Crow encourages us to seek the wisdom found in the inner silence and to ponder our actions and reactions to life. Her appearance generally heralds a sudden but necessary change, a wake up call or a lesson in self discovery…listen to your instincts and act upon them in a way that honourably serves your purpose…you have all the wisdom and knowledge you need within you to make the right decision. Call upon it now and you cannot make a mistake.”

This makes sense for where I am at now. If any of it doesn’t then it always gives me food for thought. Something to reflect and work out if it is relevant or not and what I need to take away from the information.

Animals have long been held of high importance in symbolism, of meaning or defining a cause and even used as totems both personally or familially. It is a key aspect of shamanism.

Historically we can look to the indigenous people who work so well with animals, their spirit and symbolically include the animals traits in their ceremonial work, understanding personality and character of a person.

I think we also unconsciously and consciously connect ourselves to certain animals and their traits by our likes and obsessions. Elephants are my adopted totem. I was actually addicted to them in my younger years and had a collection, this collection is safely packed away until I can put them somewhere they can be appreciated without being mishandled by little people. Although considering my obsession I think the characteristics are now instilled in my being and are relied upon as needed. Do you have an animal like this?

Other animals float in and out of our lives. For periods of time or as they did for me over those few days, to point me in the right direction or bring ideas or reflections to light.

I think its great to draw on the energy or the characteristics of the animals that resonate with you.

Is there a certain animal that is with you all the time or you connect with? Or is there an animal of late that has been attracting your attention?

Feel free to write the animal in the comments section and I will respond to you with their characteristics and meanings from the information I have and refer to.

{ Image Credit }

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “Animal Messengers

  1. It’s funny, I was drawn to this blog firstly because the word ‘animals’ was in the title. I love animals. Secondly because of the image of the elephants. There are 2 animals that I tend to connect with. Mine too, is elephants. I have some special elephants at home. I bought a beautiful elephant for my son to play with. I think I like it more 😉 I am drawn to the elephants at the zoo. I just want to watch them and watch them. They amaze me. I love them. So big yet so graceful all the same. I’m drawn to stories and images with elephants. One of my favourite kids books is probably my fav because of a beautiful elephant illustration. I don’t know what it is about elephants that I love so much. Another animal I tend to connect with but not as much, is giraffes. They’re such beautiful and elegant creatures. They too amaze me.
    Nice blog, thank you x

    Posted by Mum2cj | January 20, 2012, 1:21 am
    • Elephants represent overcoming obstacles. “If goals and intentions are spirit driven then its only your egos fear and discouragement that will stop you from achieving it. Time to live your life according to the drive and desire of your inner spirit.” Associated words: Protective, motivated, maternal and family.
      Giraffe represents foresight. “Yes its good to live in the present, yet at the same time it can be equally important to see what lies ahead and set your sights accordingly.” Associated words: Prophecy, divination, risk taking and gentleness. Thank you so much for the comment. Hope the interpretations resonate xx

      Posted by Precocious Lotus | January 24, 2012, 12:02 pm
  2. I also went through a stage where I was obsessed with elephants and had a small collection of them, especially after visiting Thailand several times and having close encounters with them. I still love them. I love most animals though.
    At various times of my life, several animals appear. Recently, when I moved house, a giant carpet snake set up residence right next to the bottom of my stairs and near where the removal truck was parked. It was there for several days where I had to walk up and down the stairs. I’m scared of snakes, but I learned to get used to it, as it did nothing to me (though later ate one of our guinea pigs). And prior to leaving we had several Eastern Brown Snakes appear in the garden. One bit the cat, which survived. I almost stood on one as I got out of the car. And as I was cleaning out the house I found one – dead but not yet decomposed – lodged between my daughter’s bed and the wall. What do you think so many snakes meant given I am scared of them? I am much happier where I am living now. Thanks.

    Posted by Maid In Australia | January 20, 2012, 3:18 am
    • Elephants are beautiful arent they. As I wrote below “Elephants represent overcoming obstacles. “If goals and intentions are spirit driven then its only your egos fear and discouragement that will stop you from achieving it. Time to live your life according to the drive and desire of your inner spirit.” Associated words: Protective, motivated, maternal and family.”
      Snakes have lots of different meanings from sexuality to life and death and healing. From the references I am using here is the reflection: “While embracing the promise of new life, the snake can be seen as the representative of the healing we must accept if we intend to move into the next phase of our life in a complete and fertile way….The snake is a way of gently pointing out that you need to look deep within yoursef and honour those aspects that pose the threat of making you ill. We have to hand them over so that we may see clearly again. Snakes encourage us to look at our baggage, our burdens and our pain and transmute them into new opportunity and new life” Associated words: rebirth, sexuality, transmutation, transformation. It also represents the healer within. As you heal others you heal yourself. Thank you so much for the comment. Hope the interpretations resonate xx

      Posted by Precocious Lotus | January 24, 2012, 12:13 pm
  3. Hi P.L. Wonderful post (as always a delight to read)…I have recently been drawn to owls…my mother always had an owl collection and one of my fondest memories of living on the farm was the hoot owl in the barn…I was just wondering what meaning the owl might have? Thanks for writing this piece.

    Posted by Ann Zemus | January 20, 2012, 4:03 am
    • Thank you so much. Ive been drawn to owls for a little while too. Theyre gorgeous. Owls are about paying attention to signs. “Owls wisdom allows us to know when we are stuck in the content of our own lives, oblivious to the fact that we are wandering aimlessly through life. Owl sheds light on these moments, so that clarity may be retrieved and stability salvaged…Owls appearance may be a warning that you need to quickly ascertain the integrity hidden behind motives and determine how they may affect or influence your view of the world.” As the owl has been a long time part of your life it can also highlight that you may see what others miss. Associated words: Wisdom, shadows, secrecy and magician. Thank you so much for the comment. Hope the interpretations resonate xx

      Posted by Precocious Lotus | January 24, 2012, 12:27 pm
  4. beautiful post.

    I have also had the bird experience with magpies and kurrawongs, and a smaller bird looking like a miniture magpie, all at the same time, same area and over a few days. The magpies stayed half a day longer and actually walked into the house.

    I was sitting having a cuppa with a friend and she said, “when did you get the pet magpies?” I looked around and saw these two maggies at the entrance to the dining room.

    Now when I reflect on it and after reading your post, I get the feeling that they had come to say goodbye because they didn’t come back after that last visit. They were still around, sometimes I would see them fly over almost like a salute, but they never stayed.

    I am a great lover of the animal kingdom and must admit that I felt privileged to have them visit and spend time with me. Thank you PL, your post has made me feel even more privileged.

    Posted by Coralie | January 20, 2012, 9:21 am
  5. Loved the post Cath. Well written.

    I’m always drawn to monkeys, even from a young child and even now, I always feel drawn toward them. I love to watch them and have a collection of monkey figures and stuffed toys.

    Another animal that’s been floating around me and grabbing my attention frequently is butterflies…but I understand that symbol…we are all good there!!! Real pretty butterflies too. 🙂

    Posted by Natalie | January 20, 2012, 9:21 pm
    • Thank you. Monkeys represent that you need to “use both intuition and intellect to solve the problem or get answers. When theres congruity between mind and intuition coupled with a healthy dose of patience, you tap into the deeper wisdom of source.” Associated words: affection, playfulness with wisdom and intuition. And words associated with butterfly: rebirth, vibrancy, reincarnation and colourfulness. Gorgeous animals to have. Thank you so much for the comment. Hope the interpretations resonate xx

      Posted by Precocious Lotus | January 24, 2012, 12:44 pm
  6. When Tina was alive, Whistling kites would always be close to us. No matter where we travelled. I have ngawia, the Sea Turtle as my totem. Ngawia is very important in gugu yimmithirr & kuku yalanji country, the country I call home near Cooktown, in Australia.

    Posted by Brad and Tina | January 21, 2012, 11:48 pm
    • What beautiful animals to be connected to. I didnt know what a whistling kite was so I had to look it up and its described as like an eagle or hawk. Those two represent connection and protection by spirit and being sent messages to affirm your thoughts and actions. Tina and yourself had/have high intuition it shows. And the sea turtle as your totem is gorgeous. The literature that I refer to has a beautiful paragraph that I will share “Even when surrounded by those we love and respect, we sometimes feel alone and isolated. We sometimes forget our connection to spirit and the relationship we have with the earth mother and creation. We feel apart from, rather than a part of, nature. We feel disconnected from the great wheel of life and believe ourselves to be alone. Turtle, however, reminds us that we are never alone – that the earth is our mother and that she loves, speaks, protects and provides for us everyday.” Turtle is very healing. Thank you so much for sharing xx

      Posted by Precocious Lotus | January 24, 2012, 12:56 pm
  7. Hi,

    Thanks for your post. I have been wondering about the symbolism of animals for a while now.
    As I have recently moved to a new area and there is a peacock that lives in our street.
    Apparently the street has adopted him. And he
    Parades around up and down the street and hangs out in different peoples gardens.
    It’s very strange as I am still in the suburbs. The outer suburbs on the coast.

    It does seem strange though, so I have been
    so I have been wondering what his symbolism
    Is and how I can apply it to my life.

    Kind regards,

    Leanne W

    Posted by Leanne Wainwright | January 24, 2012, 3:12 pm
  8. Hello, hope you can help me, I have found myself being more & more drawn to owls, (and the moon) or symbols of owls, but only this past 12 months or so. I can see images often. I’m currently employed but am restless and feel I need the freedom to go down a different path but, alas, I don’t know which one. I’m really confused as I’ve never experienced this before. Sorry to bother you.

    Posted by Lorraine | December 3, 2015, 10:38 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Day 27 | 100daysmeditation - April 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

