//
you're reading...
Behaviour, Change, Energy, Everyday Psychology, Friendship, Health, Identity, Influence, Intuition, Life, Love, Mindfulness, Pondering, Relationships, Self, Social Media

Do you really know?

20121115-215644.jpg

It’s a theme that’s been coming up regularly for me, yet I had to contemplate whether to write it or not.

You know I’m very black and white a lot of the time. That I’m a logical person, on the whole, for the most part I have common sense and therefore expect it of others {my bad} so in doing this blog post I naturally thought I was stating the obvious. I thought isn’t it a clear point to make and why write a blog post about it when people, I hesitate to say should (but can’t find another word), should have this perspective. Though I find myself in a position where it keeps floating into my thoughts, that I can “feel” and my intuition tells me that people may not actually have this understanding at all.

I’m talking about people really not knowing what’s going on in your life.
I spoke briefly about it here and here and probably other places too. I’m not using this as a platform to explain my life or my circumstances. I don’t do that because it’s just not me, anyone else it’s their prerogative I’m just private. I’m also not doing this for people to ask either because I won’t answer. I give my story to those I trust. Those who get close enough to the inner circle. Again it’s not because I’m rude, I just don’t tell people a lot of “stuff”. So this isn’t about whether you should or shouldn’t tell me people your business. I don’t give a flying you know what, what others do. The point to me having to feel the need to write this, is more about the fact that people truly don’t know what is happening in people’s lives but yet appear to act put out, angry or other when their needs arent being met in some capacity.

I know a lot of people love the quote that floats around

“don’t go comparing your life to someone else’s highlight reel”

It’s true. People only know what you put out there. But even that isn’t the whole story or the whole perspective. I feel like people are quick to judge on what you put on social media but they do not question what you may be holding back. They may not realise that what you are giving on that day is actually all that you can give. You honestly don’t have any energy to give anymore.

Some people take this personally, some think you’re rude, or others think that you may be selfish. Honestly though throughout the year, less so now, I could not bear to look at the twitter timeline. So I would briefly tweet my thought and off I would go. I would respond to those who tweeted back but that’s all I could manage. My head was just too full or I couldn’t deal with other peoples energy and emotions when I wanted and needed to focus upon my own.

What has been a real reminder this past year is that we truly do not know what is happening in other peoples lives. As I’ve gotten older I’m really understanding this. You are exposed to more serious issues and for me certainly, I am no longer sheltered from them by the care and protection of my parents.

Most days now I notice when people aren’t on Twitter or Instagram {I’m not on FB anymore so have no idea} or I notice if their energy is different. My first reflection is, I hope they’re ok but second is I wonder what’s going on for them. They didn’t have to say a word yet I know it’s not personal with me but also from my perspective I leave them to it. They will tell me if they want to.

For me it’s about being more sensitive to the fact that I can only see the tip of the iceberg. This mindfulness has also flowed into daily life. I no longer go about assuming that someone is just drinking their coffee in the morning living the life society conditions us to think everyone lives. It reminds me of the saying “people are doing the best that they can at that point in time”. It’s about ensuring I do not place my values or expectations upon someone. Being well aware that I have no idea what else they are dealing with, that they could be falling apart and wondering how on earth the world keeps going when they are in or have been affected by so much pain- emotional, physical, psychological or spiritual.

I now know that any interaction I have is a blessing. That person has invested part of their time and day toward acknowledging me. This may sound a bit over the top and serious but having walked the journey I have this year I feel I have no right to judge anybody on how they present themselves to me.

Always evolving. Forever learning
Namastè

20121115-215004.jpg~This quote reminds me of the essence of this idea that you don’t know how much you are actually receiving from someone else~

About Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday

Modern Suburban Hippie (minus hallucinogens :) ) Vegetarian. Passionate. Love Laughs. Yoga. Chai Lattes. Crystals. Oracle cards. Goddesses. Angels. Spiritual. Perfume Loving. Intuitive Parenting. Breastfeeding Mama. Sport Loving. Opinionated. Scorpio. Psychologist. I have 3 little people who rock my world.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Do you really know?

  1. I so relate to your words here.
    I love the sentences ….I now know that any interaction I have is a blessing….That person has invested part of their time and day towards acknowledging me.
    I truly feel this way too.
    We all have so much going on in our lives and to know that someone does take that time out to share with me means an incredible amount and makes me feel warm inside.
    Many people I know don’t understand why I feel this way about people I haven’t met.They cant understand the beautiful bonds of friendship that can be formed on blogs and twitter.
    Some of these online friends have been there to offer support in very hard times,when others in my life have not.Even when they know I will always be there for them.
    Thankyou for this post as it makes me feel I am not alone in the way I feel.
    As I have become older I too have a deeper understanding of so many things.It gives a kind of peace inside.
    I hope things are are good for you in every way,as you bring so much love and light to so many.Thankyou.xx

    Posted by Debyl1 | November 15, 2012, 11:06 pm
  2. This is so very true. In the last year I have changed beyond measure, but those around me almost have no idea what I have been through. It’s not that I don’t trust others, I just don’t like to burden people, nor be the topic of gossip. When it comes to others, I never pry or seek out information, rather I feel privileged and honored if somebody shares their story with me. I find taking the ego out eliminates comparisons. xx

    Posted by Shelley | November 15, 2012, 11:26 pm
  3. I like this a lot. I like that I can reflect here too. Thank you for being there & connecting. Love D x

    Posted by denwise1 | November 15, 2012, 11:31 pm
  4. I love this. It’s amazing how you say that during those times throughout this year, you couldn’t bear to look at the twitter timeline, or focus on other people’s energy or emotions.. it’s how I’ve felt a lot of the time lately. And like you, without going into any detail, it’s just enough to skim the surface of social media, putting snippets out there, and connecting with others who connect with you, but apart from that, it’s all just noise. And sometimes, the noise, and the weight of everyone’s elses thoughts, feelings and emotions is just all too much…

    But then, sometimes it is amazing. And wonderful to make connections with incredible people, like you! People who, without having ever met you, can connect with you on such a profound level of understanding. And I think all you need is an abundance of mindfulness that you can’t ever really know, all you can do is listen & learn & give love.

    xoxox

    Posted by Jane | November 16, 2012, 12:01 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Light of Compassion | Bringing Spirit Into The Everyday - September 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

Moon Cycle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

